Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

You know what gets worse when you get older? Hangovers. Not only do they feel horrible, but they can cause you to waste a precious weekend day recovering. I remember my first hangover distinctly. I was 24 and had gone clubbing the night before without eating dinner. Which meant that, even though I stuck to vodka-cranberry all night and didn’t mix alcohol, I was setting myself up to be hung over.

This was me basically every weekend in June…What?! I had too, for Pride Month. Iz mandatory.

“What…is this…horrible feeling?” I remember thinking. Which led to my first, “I’m never drinking again.” 24 year olds, amirite? I’m much more careful now, but I still have “one of those nights” every once in awhile. My vast experience has led me to perfect my hangover cure. “Nothing can cure a hangover! Those cures are just old wives tales!” You are probably exclaiming incredulously. BUT that’s just because you’ve never come to my place for brunch, you little doubting Thomases and Thomas-ettes. You should consider it.

Lez cook!

To cure your hangover, you will need:

  • Cous Cous
  • Cheese & Parsley Italian Sausage
  • Soft cheese spread or a shredded cheeseany that will melt well, I recommend cheddar, parmesan or jack
  • Eggs (one per person)
  • Olive Oil
  • Butter

It looks like a lot, but it’ll take you about 15 minutes to prepare. Start by boiling the water for the cous cous. If you’ve never made cous cous before, buy the kind in a box and follow the directions, then add a splash of olive oil and a chunk of butter. For boxed cous cous, I enjoy the Near East cheddar broccoli flavor. While the water is coming to a boil, heat up a pan for the sausage. Sausage is fatty so you don’t need to add any oil, but if you are a non-stick freak, coat the pan with low fat cooking spray, like PAM.

Once the pan is hot, put your sausage in the pan. Is the water for the cous cous boiling? Great, pour the grain in, stir it, cover it and turn off the heat.

The cous cous can cook itself while you brown the sausage on both sides.

Once the sausage is brown, lower the heat and continue to cook it, flipping when necessary. Then, heat another pan and melt some butter into it for your eggs.

The more hungover you are, the more butter you will want to use. That’s just science.

Sprinkle the egg with salt and pepper and cook it over easy. Ok, we are almost done! Did you forget about the cous cous? Don’t worry, it’s just chilling out and taking care of itself. Take a heaping tablespoon of your cheese and add it to the cous cous.

Yum! Cheese is the best! I’m using 50% lighter cheese, sooo basically the more I eat the thinner I get.

Stir the cheese in and get it on your plate, slide your egg on top and add some sausage.

Garnish with some parsley and voila!

You’re hangover is now cured. And anyone who slept over is 100% more likely to come back for more. You’re welcome.

